Richard Mapes

I may have my vices, Gossip Girl, Glee and the like, but my dedication to design is always a priority. At age 13, I began my exploration of design in conjunction with social equity by building two homes in the poverty-stricken Juarez, Mexico. Continuing through life I’ve made it important to assist communities in New Mexico, Tennessee as well as the Ronald McDonald House in Denver, CO.

My college career has already brought me through several non-profit organizations. In 2009, I served as the Public Transit Campaign Coordinator with the Colorado Public Interest Research Group and during the academic year of 2010-2011 I served as the President of the American Institute of Architecture Students. During my time with AIAS, I reinstated the humanitarian oriented Freedom By Design Program at CU Boulder’s Chapter during my efforts of increasing general opportunities for students in the ENVD program.

I believe good design must have a social imperative. I’m very excited to be a part of the first step in understanding what it means to transform the University Hill District into an innovation driven resource for the larger Boulder community.

This entry was posted in Profiles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

